top of page
  • Writer's pictureElena Vermeer

iTeam Update!

Hi everyone! As we begin Trinity Term, we wanted to give you guys an update - first to introduce the incoming iTeam, and to give an overview of our exciting events for this term.

 

Vanessa

Hey, I'm Vanessa, the International Secretary, and I’m so excited to meet you! I study medicine at Pembroke, but more importantly, I love learning about new cultures and want to get to know you no matter what background you come from :) I’ve lived in 5 countries across 3 continents so (hopefully!) I can understand the challenges that students from different countries face when moving to and living in Oxford. Wonderfully, despite so many changes in each of the different places and situations I’ve lived in, God has always been constant! His love is not restricted by culture or country and He wants to know each and every one of us. Please don’t hesitate to send me a message on Facebook (Vanessa McLoughlin) or email (vanessa.mcloughlin@pmb.ox.ac.uk) if you're an international student with questions, if you're interested in serving the international community here, or if you just want to chat - I can’t wait to hear from you!


Annie

Hey, I’m Annie. I’m a biochemist, studying at St Anne’s college (going into my 2nd year in October). I love Running, good food, and long chats about random things. I really enjoy meeting loads of new people from around the world, and it's so great to be part of such an international university! I’m so excited to be on the iTeam this year, to share God’s love with everyone, no matter where they come from, and to grow God’s family in Oxford and around the world.


Drop me an email (anne.thomas@st-annes.ox.ac.uk) if you’d love to know more about Oxford, biochemistry, or just have a chat 😊.


Elena

Hey everyone, I’m Elena, a first-year English student at St. Hilda’s. I’m so excited to serve as one of your iReps this year! Growing up mixed-race in an international city like Hong Kong -- I’m half Hong Kong-Chinese and half American -- has meant that I’ve always been immersed in a melting pot of nationalities and cultures (and cuisines!). Experiencing first-hand the difficulties of moving to and studying at Oxford -- especially during the Covid-19 pandemic -- as an international student has made me realise the importance of international ministry. When I feel homesick at Oxford, or isolated during remote study, I’m comforted to remember that God’s love transcends all borders and that the entire world is in His hands. The community that I found at church (I attend St. Ebbe’s Oxford) and at OICCU events really brightened up my first term at Oxford and helped me settle in. In the coming year, I’m looking forward to sharing that blessing with the international community at Oxford, and to exploring God’s amazing love further. If you have any questions about moving to Oxford or studying English as an international student, or just fancy a chat over tea or a meal (or Zoom!), do send me an email at elena.vermeer@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk. Looking forward to meeting you all, and God bless <3


Jia Jhing

Hello! I’m Jia Jhing, a second year studying Biomedical Sciences at Trinity and I’m very excited to be one of your i-Reps for 2021/2022 🙂 Coming from Malaysia, I can fully relate to the feeling of being far away from home and can definitely say that settling into Oxford was made so much easier through meeting other internationals! I’m so grateful for the loving and supportive christian community here and would love to extend the welcome to more of you! There’s so much joy and comfort in knowing that we are all children of God and I hope that we can explore the wonders of God together this upcoming year. Feel free to get in touch with me through Facebook (Sia Jia Jhing) or email jiajhing.sia@trinity.ox.ac.uk, I’m more than happy to chat!


Joseph

Hi! I'm Joseph, a first year maths student at ChCh and an iRep for the next year. I grew up in Taiwan (including much of my first year ooP) but studied in an American international school before coming here. As a result, I am in some weird way a TCK, call me Taiwanese but not really, but I am definitely not American either. Moving to Oxford during this time led to some loneliness, but from here I experienced what it meant for Jesus to be my best friend. Furthermore, church and OICCU gave me a sense of home and security. (Reasons to come to church include but not limited to: a lot of free food and lovely postcards.) I hope to welcome you all just as the previous iReps have welcomed me. So please do email me (yu-yang.lin@chch.ox.ac.uk) if you want a chat regarding anything: church, being a stereotypical Asian studying maths, etc. Hope to see you all soon albeit virtually rip.

 

Upcoming Events

Undoubtedly, Trinity Term looks a bit different from usual, but we believe that community is more important than ever! Just because we aren't in the same city (or even the same country!) doesn't mean we can't gather or make new friends. Join us at Café 360, 2pm Wednesdays on even weeks, a virtual cafe space on gather.town with games, discussions and much more for students from any background, nation and culture. Can’t wait to see you there!


In 5th week of Trinity term, we’ll also be hosting a very exciting event, called ‘Sims; Is there something more?’. I wonder, if you could start life again, would you make the same choices? Come along to experience simulated life, accumulate points and maybe earn a real prize for your achievements!


Join the Oxford International Hub on Facebook for more information about our events and to become part of our community. As always, please feel free to drop any of us a message or an email if you want to chat or if you have any questions! Looking forward to meeting you :)

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page