top of page
  • Grace Burney

Devotional: Not afraid

"Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God” - Corrie ten Boom


The world seems to be changing everyday, but what a comfort it is that we have a God that never changes, whose love for us can never be diminished - “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8)


I don’t know what’s ahead, but I know that God goes before me - His word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. His word, the Bible, reveals to us His plans for us, His thoughts towards us, and His great love for us.


The beauty of Christianity is not just that God knows us, but that we can know Him. That He loved us first, loves us completely, and draws us to love Him.

Psalms‬ ‭55:22 writes:‬‬ ”Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you”

Psalms‬ ‭23:4-6‬ ‭‬‬writes: ”I may walk through valleys as dark as death, but I won't be afraid. You are with me..... Your kindness and love will always be with me each day of my life, and I will live forever in your house, LORD.” ‭‭


Psalm 27:14 writes: “Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.“


Being in a new place isn’t easy. Moving isn’t easy. But what hope and encouragement we can get from knowing that God moved from heaven to earth, came close to reveal Himself to us, in the person of Jesus. ‭‭


John‬ ‭1:14‬ ‭in the AMPC‬‬ version writes: ”And the Word (Christ) became flesh (human, incarnate) and lived among us; and we [actually] saw His glory (His honor, His majesty), such glory as a Son receives from his Father, full of grace (favour, loving-kindness) and truth.”


And in The Message version writes: "The Word became flesh and blood, and moved into the neighborhood. We saw the glory with our own eyes, the one-of-a-kind glory, like Father, like Son, Generous inside and out, true from start to finish.” ‭‭


Sometimes it can feel like we’re ”waiting” for God. But the truth is, He’s probably also waiting for us. Waiting for us to draw near, to properly spend time meditating on His word, His thoughts, His love - He desires to know us, how much do we desire to know Him?


God promises us that He won’t let us down. He concedes that, in this world, we will have trouble, but tells us ”take heart, for I [Jesus] have overcome the world” (John 16:33)


God is greater than our mess, bigger than our circumstances - He came to give us a joy that doesn’t fade, a peace that won’t run out, a hope that lasts forever. You can know this hope. I hope that encourages you today.





125 views0 comments
bottom of page